The Real September Issue

Click on products to buy! (how can you resist?)

It’s been a long time, I know. I have no excuse other than life getting in the way – work and all the stuff that gets squished in around it, usually carried out in a horribly slapdash manner if you’re me. That and Love Island. But I’ve missed you, I really have, I hope you’ve missed me too.

The good news is, I’m back and what better place to pick up than September which, as discussed before, is the summer’s answer to Christmas and new year. Following the excesses and general gloriousness of the summer holidays (incorporated into which hopefully, was an actual holiday) it’s time to restock, look forward to the new and identify where you might make some changes.

 

 

There’s always the lure of the change of season here in the UK, don’t you love it? Even if you are sad to see the end of our wonderful summer. The fashion industry will have you believe that September means it is now autumn and while yes, the evenings are shorter and I’ll admit to feeling a little chilled for the first time in absolutely months on the sun soaked school run this morning, it is late summer in my eyes and I wouldn’t put a pair of tights over my tanned legs if you paid me.

 

September offers a chance to scout out what’s new on the shop floor, to look at what you’ve stored away from last winter, decide what to chuck and see how big the gap in your wardrobe is for new stuff. I will be putting a long cardigan or leather biker over my flowery dresses, topping up the tan with bronzer and applying moisturiser liberally to my dehydrated limbs while I consider the most noteworthy and wearable of the new season trends. Here goes…

The Colour: Burnt Orange

autumnblog59coast

Top £59 at Coast

autumn125arket

Cashmere jumper £125 at Arket

There’s always a stand out colour that divides opinion. Last season it was the Amal Clooney yellow, this time it is this autumn leaf shade the like of which hasn’t been embraced so fully since knickerbockers were a thing (circa 1983). I’m not mad keen, but if you’re warm of skin tone this will be your year because burnt orange is already everywhere.

 

The Silhouette: Full Skirts

autumnblog149massimo

Skirt £149 at Massimo Dutti

autumn129coast

Skirt £129 at Coast

I know these take a bit of getting used to and can appear a little impractical (ever lost the hand brake under a swathe of skirt fabric?) but even if you save your huge skirt for Christmas day, remember the one enormous bonus – POCKETS!

 

The Print: Checked Suiting

autumn56ware

Jacket £56 at Warehouse

autumn22dp

Checked trousers £22 at Dorothy Perkins

Another trend which is suddenly in every shop window and can incorporate the two trends detailed above, the Prince of Wales check or similar is suddenly your go-to workwear print. But you don’t have to be working in an office to pull this look off – wear with a t-shirt and trainers for a daytime vibe or with heels and a dressy top for the evening. Or wear the two pieces separately. This is your win-win purchase of the season, it is ageless and again, you will find it wherever you shop, all price points and sizes covered.

 

The Hemline: Midi Dresses

autumn79debs

Wraparound dress £69 Preen at Debenhams

autumnblog5999mango

Dress £59.99 at Mango

Surely you have several of these by now? If Prince Harry’s wedding didn’t convince you of the effortless elegance of the floral midi then nothing will. If I was a gobby personal stylist who hasn’t written a blog in months I’d say said floral midis upstaged the Markle wedding gown on the day but of course I’m not so I won’t. Wraparound styles are great for curves and tie or ruche detailing as in the Mango dress above will do wonders to disguise a holiday tum. A fine knit polo neck with the boots described below will be a fabulous ’70s look come the actual autumn. Long scarf and bobble hat optional.

 

The Footwear: Knee Length Boots

autumn101stmad

Boots £101 by Steve Madden at Debenhams

autumnblog175br

Suede boots £175 at Banana Republic

Think The Eighties with this season’s knee boots. They are a little more slouchy than previous incarnations (good news for those who struggle to find boots which will fit their calves); a little more Abba to last winter’s Little Mix and I have it on good authority that it is officially acceptable to wear boots on the outside of your trousers once again so no more getting your booted foot stuck halfway down your skinnies. Although, talking of skinnies, you might want to try a wider leg trouser this autumn which means the boots go underneath – otherwise you’ll end up looking like an Arabian knight.

 

The Texture: Jumbo Corduroy

autumn5999hm

Jacket £59.99 at H&M

autumnblog229massimo

Jacket £229 at Massimo Dutti

I have already seen one of the school mums in head to toe fat corduroy this week and I have to say I felt a bit jealous. I had written it off as a daft fad which reminded me of the cheap corner sofas you find on Groupon but on this mum the cord suit really had legs, wide ones, and it looked kinda cool. I’m seriously considering it. I suspect the jackets are easier to wear than the trousers so if in doubt keep corduroy on top – also less likelihood of shiny bald patches in the fabric – or go for the ultra forgiving A-line midi skirt from H&M’s more grown up sister Arket. And oh look – they’ve paired it with burnt orange and knee boots – it really works doesn’t it?! If you prefer shorter skirts then try Warehouse for a similar shape.

autumn69arket

A line midi skirt £69 at Arket

I am writing this dressed in white dungarees so clearly I have no intention of giving in to the new season yet. After so many months of it being too hot for such clothing, I’m determined to get some wear out of them, but I’m very excited about autumn 2018 (how can I not be now Strictly has started?) and am booking clients in for wardrobe clear outs as we speak so the tide has definitely turned. Have a gorgeous weekend everyone, I will be back with another post more quickly I promise!

 

 

 

 

 

About aftercarrie

I help people refine their wardrobe to suit their shape, colouring and lifestyle. I am a style consultant, personal shopper and colour analyst working in London. Be the loveliest possible you. My first book SHOPPED was released on 5th July 2016 (September Publishing). www.emilystott.net
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Real September Issue

  1. MARIONESS says:

    I think that corduroy will be such a big trend this season and I can’t wait to try to wear it! And I also find burnt orange perfect for Autumn!
    Would love if you could check out my blog which is all about fashion & a sparkle of lifestyle!
    https://marioness.wordpress.com/

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Real September Issue — After Carrie… – elunarcom

Leave a comment