Check It Out

Inevitably as winter makes way for spring, patterned fabrics take centre stage. I’m not naturally drawn to prints – I’ve only recently invested in a Breton top – but that’s largely because I fear patterned clothes present more problems than they solve. This season there are many prints to choose from but interestingly the stripes and florals have made way for a print so loaded with connotation it makes the polka dot seem new-fangled.

Gingham.

What does it make you think of? Tablecloths in Italian restaurants? Primary school uniform? Whatever the image in your head, gingham doesn’t tend to be associated with grown up stuff or, you know, being taken seriously. Now I may not be one for patterns but I’m all over a girly garment best saved for toddlers; tutus, ribbons and ballet shoes, I’ll give it a go. I’m a forty something mum but for some reason I struggle to contain the desire for dressing like a fairy – I went to my sister’s wedding looking like Glinda, the Good Witch of the South and I’m on the look out for another occasion to get that pink sequin number out again.

Gingham appeared on the runways back in 2015 but over a year on and it’s coming into its own. It’s not just for teenagers either. I’ll admit I bought my New Look red and white gingham platforms back in March because at £34.99 it wasn’t a total disaster if the trend was over by summer, but now it’s June and  I find myself tempted to go the whole nine yards with a dress or a pair of trousers. You can do gingham too and you should, you really should. Here’s your check list (heehee!) of how to wear this season’s must-have print and still look like an adult:

Workwear

Stick to a smaller check in black and white if you prefer a more conservative look for work. Neat monochrome gingham is timeless and looks really fresh with a crisp white shirt and black accessories.

Tops

This is where you can afford a hint of frivolity and the sleeve is a no-brainer for all ages this season. All these tops will work as beautifully with jeans or white trousers as a pencil or midi skirt.

Evening

In the summer, a more relaxed approach to party wear is fine. While gingham is by definition more of a daytime fabric, dressed up with heels, this season’s neat white jacket and/or statement earrings these dresses will look effortless.

Shoes

If you buy one thing in gingham in 2017 make it shoes. Gorgeously girly and yet not too Doris Day worn with boyfriend jeans or a white trouser suit, they will update your look instantly and for less than the price of a tank of petrol.

It’s been a fairly crazy twenty four hours and I didn’t go to bed until 3am  so I will bid you a lovely weekend. I’m off to meet some friends for lunch in the local Italian, here’s hoping I don’t match the table cloths.

 

My new personal styling website is now live, take a look and let me know what you think!

http://www.emilystott.net

 

 

About aftercarrie

I help people refine their wardrobe to suit their shape, colouring and lifestyle. I am a style consultant, personal shopper and colour analyst working in London. Be the loveliest possible you. My first book SHOPPED was released on 5th July 2016 (September Publishing). www.emilystott.net
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

