The Bewitching Hour

Whether you look forward to Hallowe’en or absolutely dread it, nowadays there is absolutely no escaping it. Even if you’re blissfully child free you still need to have a contingency plan for the inevitable knock on the door at 6 o’clock. If you don’t have some sweets in for the greedy little buggers, there’s the worry that they might chuck eggs at your windows – or worse, stand jabbering on your doorstep all night. If you do and they’re the wrong kind of sweets (last year I heard at least one “I don’t like those” and several more “I’ve already had some of those” – this was Wimbledon after all) everyone ends up pissed off and even more determined next year.

One thing we can all be united on though is the strangely alluring glamour this time of year brings. Yes, the supermarkets are full of nail-catching orange and black nylon but have you taken a look at what’s out there for us adults lately? Gothic inspired pieces are in abundance and I defy anyone not to rock a witchy look. And anyway it’s not often you get to take advantage of having unbrushed hair, a pasty complexion and blood shot eyes – this year Hallowe’en falls on the Monday after half term week for most so the timing couldn’t be better.

The high street may be at the ready for the stroke of midnight on the 31st to get all the sparkly festive red outfits into the window displays for the run up to Christmas, and perhaps it’s just luck but there are so many gorgeous black pieces out there at the moment, even I’m tempted to go head to toe black and I swore off the stuff three years ago!

I think it’s a great excuse to dress up and also be a jolly good sport (and the coolest mummy ever) simultaneously. Be inspired by Angelina Jolie as Maleficent (or are we off her now?) or Eva Green as Miss Peregrine but take the devil by the horns and go for it this Hallowe’en. These clothes are not only eveningy with an after dark sexiness you don’t get to do (at least not without disapproval) at Christmas but also there are plenty of fairly practical boots and cover-ups so you can still appear to be vaguely sensible. And I only add that in – I’m not overly bothered with sensible usually – because last year I turned up to the trick or treating outing in Wimbledon in full fancy dress only to discover every other adult present was in a khaki puffer and trainers. At least the boyfriend got away with not having to introduce me to anyone and everyone assumed I was some weird hanger-on belonging to someone else*.

This year I am out trick or treating with my school playground friends and there will be at least ten mini vampires and witches under the age of seven. They will be pumped up simply by being out after dark and then there will be sugar. It will be hideous. So we might as well dress accordingly. H&M have thoughtfully provided actually Hallowe’en outfits this year so there’s no excuse. You’ll need a swag bag and H&M’s rucksack couldn’t be more perfect – it even unzips to show teeth for goodness sake, can this retailer be any more brilliant? Yes, it’s going to be very exciting indeed, I love a good cackle with my witches. I for one can’t wait.

Happy Hallowe’en one and all!

*They were half right.

In case you’ve managed to miss my constant reminders, my book SHOPPED is out and available to buy in all good bookshops and here on Amazon:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_c_1_8?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=shopped+emily+stott&sprefix=shopped+%2Caps%2C121

 

About aftercarrie

I help people refine their wardrobe to suit their shape, colouring and lifestyle. I am a style consultant, personal shopper and colour analyst working in London. Be the loveliest possible you. My first book SHOPPED was released on 5th July 2016 (September Publishing) But it here:
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

