All The Pretty Things

The sun unexpectedly came out and as usual it took us by surprise. There is inevitably a knee jerk reaction here in the UK – just in case we never see the sun ever again. The menfolk immediately put their shorts on while the ladies repair to the nearest bar terrace to drink rosé and small children start whining about getting the paddling pool out even if actually the heating is still on. By April, so starved are we of vitamin D that it’s all we can talk about. So I should be starting to panic about my entire summer wardrobe being stuck behind many boxes and pieces of furniture in a storage unit in Merton. It should be a real worry that the only way to access my treasured strappy shoes and sundresses is to bribe someone (my boyfriend) to help me shift said stuff. (God forbid I mention all the winter stuff having to go back in its place).

The thing is though, I can’t recall when I was quite so excited about the forthcoming season. And summer clothes imprisoned in Safestore = no choice other than to go shopping. Far less chance of a box related argument that way too.

The high street has outdone itself for Spring Summer 2016 the and the timing couldn’t be better. Just look at all this gorgeous stuff! I am a girly girl and my default setting is dress and heels so I don’t mind the thought of resembling a Von Trapp family member. But even if you’re not so into the frills and florals, you can still do this look right through until October because even everyday pieces like bags, jeans and trainers have taken on a pretty vibe.

It’s not just the fabrics which dictate this look either, the shapes and cuts are feminine too so you can nod to the trend without going all out in head to toe Doris Day. It seems like forever since soft necklines and tapered waists were the thing and frankly it is high time. There is an overwhelming amount of tempting stuff in the shops at the moment, from the affordable V&A inspired prints at Oasis to the Liberty prints at Uniqlo, and after so many months of leopard print and leather, I can’t wait to get started on it.

And the colours! Admittedly there is still an abundance of orange out there which is no good for those of us with cool skin tones but check out the pinks, yellows and blues – mouth watering. Mix it up, channel Neapolitan ice-cream why don’t you? Or Jelly Tots!

Looking gorgeous is going to be impossible to avoid this summer. Take this morning for example – I left the house and headed for Costa, ostensibly to put the finishing touches to my book. I am now about to head home with an irresistible Stories dress covered in butterflies and petals. I did finish my book though too I promise*. Yes, this summer, everything will be coming up roses.

Broderie Anglaise insert jeans £55 at Other Stories

Broderie Anglaise insert jeans £55 at Other Stories

 

*‘Shopped’ is published by September Publishing and is out on 1st July 2016

About aftercarrie

I help people refine their wardrobe to suit their shape, colouring and lifestyle. I am a style consultant, personal shopper and colour analyst working in London. Be the loveliest possible you. My first book SHOPPED was released on 5th July 2016 (September Publishing) But it here:
This entry was posted in fashion, occasionwear, style, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

