Christmas Presence All Wrapped Up

I don’t know about you but this year the earlier than ever onset of Christmas has completely thrown me. I was so busy thinking how ridiculous it was that John Lewis had forced their horribly depressing advert on us in November (for no good reason other than Hallowe’en being over) that I didn’t notice when December snuck up on us.

The oddly mild weather hasn’t helped. I knew my son needed a ‘Christmassy’ outfit for his after school club show, an ‘all white’ outfit for his nativity and a Christmas jumper for the last day of term but the school had their Christmas dinner so long ago now that I was starting to think about Easter. Luckily last week I found the Christmas jumper – stuffed away with the decorations – and he still fits in it so that’s one thing ticked off the list. One of the other mums came up with long johns as an alternative to white trousers for little boys in December. Just as I was imagining them all in a George Michael video, it came to pass that the white outfits were to represent sheep. Sheep apparently being what all 90 of them are going to be in this particular version of the nativity. Another tick.

So now finally, I am getting around to thinking of festive outfits for the girls – that’s us! It’s not cold at the moment but since the gripe I hear most often is that it’s hard to find dresses which cover your arms at this time of year, I’ve made sleeves the main criteria. And anyway everyone seems to be coughing and sneezing at the moment and without a sleeve where do you put your tissue? This festive season I’m concentrating on being grown up and covered up. No, no, really I am.

Before you think I’ve taken leave of my senses, I’ve looked around and I think this Christmas is arguably the best yet in terms of dressy wear for the style conscious who don’t have the time to exercise their upper arms into Twiglets. Besides which, we’re not four, we don’t turn up at a Christmas party and then run around until we’re purple and so hot we have to strip down to our vests. Well, OK, that might have happened the once.

So have a look at some of the gorgeous frocks on offer on the great British high street currently. There’s absolutely no scrimping on glamour or glitz here despite the coverage. Two sleeves, a back, a front and most importantly there’s no need for a strapless bra with any of these dresses. Hooraaay! I’ve even thrown in a neat little velvet jacket just in case.

If full on sequins aren’t your thing (you really should address that) then add a bit of wow with show stopping accessories; the Aldo bag and Banana Republic earrings are very Great Gatsby, I want them immediately. The Uterque shoes are a more reasonably priced take on some very unreasonably priced Dolce and Gabbana ones. I’m championing a vintage look this year as you can see. The sequin high neck styles by French Connection and Asos will be great for skinny minnies while the Zara scoop neck and J.Crew jumpsuit will be ultra flattering for more curvy shapes and both can be glammed up with a showpiece belt. Either way I’m going with midi dresses for their practicality on Christmas Day:

a) when you end up sitting on the floor unwrapping presents and drinking Bailey’s out of a pint glass and are unable to get back up.                                                                                              b) when you have to climb over or under the lunch table to get to your place on the opposite side in between a toddler and a deaf aunt neither of whom will budge.                    c) when you fall down the stairs as you do every single Christmas Day. Just me? OK then.

Wherever you put your sparkle this Christmas, have a very lovely one. Eat as much as you like, don’t wear a Christmas jumper in public if you’re over the age of 12 and don’t feel bad about not liking Christmas pudding, nobody does. It’s just there to create a drama halfway through Christmas dinner, you’re not actually supposed to eat it.

 

 

 

About aftercarrie

I help people refine their wardrobe to suit their shape, colouring and lifestyle. I am a style consultant, personal shopper and colour analyst working in London. Be the loveliest possible you. My first book SHOPPED was released on 5th July 2016 (September Publishing). www.emilystott.net
This entry was posted in fashion, humour, occasionwear, style, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

