How to Make Your Wardrobe Work Really Hard This Autumn

I haven’t done much shopping over the past few weeks, mainly due to being busy dealing with estate agents, elusive landlords and the ensuing pulling out of hair that inevitably follows. So with (dare I say it) the end to all that madness looking like it may be in sight, and a flick through Grazia’s high street edit, I have the urge to splurge. Over the weeks I’ve picked out a few gorgeous pieces which I’ve shared with you lovely readers, but with the best intentions in the world, have failed to actually purchase any of these things, not even the fabulous brown suede boots I swore would be mine. Soit was with a certain sense of entitlement that I put my shopping head on to see if there was anything left of the collections I’d earmarked for myself. I have six weeks left to finish my book and then unscramble the thousands of words I’ve written since January so let’s not kid ourselves that I’m home and dry and available for hours of rummaging through rails.

Dress £145 from Uterque

Dress £145 from Uterque

There are many tempting trends to buy into but frankly when you are restricted in time and finances, you need to narrow down the choice otherwise you’ll end up with a whole load of stuff that doesn’t go with anything. That’s where these brilliant pieces come in, each one featuring at least two trends for the price of one and hopefully seeing you right through to when we finally see the spring again. These are hard working, multi tasking clothes which you can mix and match. The Uterque dress above for example, features the flattering fluted sleeve as well as a wrap around split skirt in fashionable camel; it’s potentially appropriate for any occasion, almost too good to be true.

Jumpsuit £225 at Reiss

Jumpsuit £225 at Reiss

First up, this amazing jumpsuit from Reiss which reveals a shoulder – a major thing this year as we know – and in so doing has an asymmetric thing going on too. I don’t even need to point out the flattering slate colour and the cut of the trousers now do I?

Split midi £45 at Other Stories

Split midi £45 at Other Stories

Top £30 by River Island

Top £30 by River Island

If you’re still not convinced by jumpsuits (I know who you are and you’re mad I tell you, MAD) then go for a skirt and top combo. The midi (if you’re not going to embrace the jumpsuit then you must do the midi – and yes, I’m still talking to you) has a flirty kick to it this season in the form of a split; two looks in one you see – brilliant! Meanwhile the big sleeve trend is appearing already and this top from River Island is a not too terrifying way to ease yourself into it. And it’s a high necked look too. It’s kind of Game of Thrones meets Saturday Night Fever. Fun this isn’t it?

Velvet flares £39.99 at Mango

Velvet flares £39.99 at Mango

Hybrid knit £198 at All Saints

Hybrid knit £198 at All Saints

For those who won’t be parted from their trousers – and who can blame you in this dreary puddlesome weather – you don’t have to go for a flare if it still makes you feel like Jamie Lee Curtis in Hallowe’en (how topical) even if they are really rather leg lengthening, but do try a high waist, you may just find that not having to tuck handfuls of flesh back into your waistband is rather liberating. I know I do. The pleasing extra with these Mango trousers is that they’re velvet and velvet is right up there this season. The styling possibilities are endless; add a black polo and you’re an Avenger, add a ruffle blouse and a waistcoat and you’re Annie Hall. Or this All Saints knit will give it a modern twist – part cardigan and part cosy wrap, it’s a multi-tasking dream and a go with everything shade. You can interchange the trews with the midi skirt and the knit with the fluted sleeved top too.

Suede coat £350 at Warehouse

Suede coat £350 at Warehouse

My final 2-4-1 pieces embrace the shearling fad which is EVERYWHERE. Everywhere except on the Warehouse website where amazingly their £850 coat has already sold out! Yes, you read that correctly, Warehouse the high street brand produced a coat which they priced at £850 and they have sold out. I don’t know where to start with this, but I know if I had £850 hanging about I wouldn’t need a Warehouse coat because I’d be in a bikini on a beach in the Caribbean. I digress, the Warehouse coat here is a mere £350, it’s suede (huge) and also faux fur (huger) and it has a definite seventies flavour (hugest), it’s a 3-4-1 in actual fact.

Leather and shearling trainers £70 at Aldo

Leather and shearling trainers £70 at Aldo

Last but by no means least are these mad trainers which appear to ooze shearling liked mashed potato through gappy teeth. And why wouldn’t you put shearling in your trainers? Imagine, they must feel like slippers – bliss – not to mention the pretend Adidas trainer being the old school look to rock this winter. With anything and everything from trouser suits to floral dresses.

There aren’t enough hours in the day or days in the week to do justice to all the different trends out there at the moment so save yourself some cash and feel smug whilst you bag yourself a multi functional, multi tasking wardrobe. Just remember to make it a bag for life.

About aftercarrie

I help people refine their wardrobe to suit their shape, colouring and lifestyle. I am a style consultant, personal shopper and colour analyst working in London. Be the loveliest possible you. My first book SHOPPED was released on 5th July 2016 (September Publishing). www.emilystott.net
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

