If The Shoe Fits…

This season, there is more choice for your feet than ever before. There is no one fad, no must-have style, not really even any risk of getting it wrong so varied is the Summer 2015 footwear offering. I’m partial to a heel, that’s no secret, but this year as the weather gets warmer I’m being tempted by trainers, platforms and gladiators – multiple shoe personality disorder is on the increase and it may even be contagious. You may only have two feet but there are a huge seven days in the week (two of which are for most, freestyle) so make the most of them, and if you have the storage space then really there’s no reason not to have at least 31 pairs. If you need further convincing then did you know the average pair of feet have roughly 250,000 sweat glands. There’s more; they can produce up to half a pint of moisture a day so you absolutely shouldn’t be wearing the same pair two days in a row as they need time to dry out. Delightful!

Monday

Fringes shoes £49.99 at Zara

Fringes shoes £49.99 at Zara

You know how a fringe is a good way to cover up lines on your forehead? Yeah well the lovely people at Zara have devised a shoe that covers up your cracked heels. So if you’ve had a weekend of wearing flip flops out and about and your feet have suffered then here’s your solution. Sorry but I’m very much of the belief that flatties can be every bit as damaging to the foot as stilettos.

Tuesday

Mid heel £29.99 at Zara

Mid heel £29.99 at Zara

I once had a boyfriend who found Tuesdays intolerably depressing. His reasoning was that they were worse than Mondays because there was no turning back and yet still over half of the week to go. If your feet are feeling they can’t make it to Friday but you still have to look smart for work then go for a mid heel.  A few years ago they were impossible to find, now they’re everywhere. These Zara ones will go with anything.

Wednesday

Wedges £129 at Reiss

Wedges £129 at Reiss

Wednesday is Hump Day. That’s a good enough reason to celebrate and while I don’t need an excuse to be at least three inches taller than my God-given five feet and five inches, these Reiss wedges are perfect office to pub wear and will look just as good with trousers or shorts as with skirts or dresses. Wedges are supposedly right back in this season but actually, did they ever go away? A design classic, despite Kate Middleton’s best attempts at putting us all off them.

Thursday

Lace-ups £89 at Boden

Lace-ups £89 at Boden

Now I’m no Boden fan but these gorgeous navy lace up flats are a great alternative to the skyscraper versions that can teeter on hooker territory (love ’em). Available in several colours, these shoes will cover up your toes if they are not fit for purpose and yet add a femininity to a trouser ensemble. I’m tempted, I’m very tempted because I just know this shoe would be the one I’d wear to death so the (quite costly) cost per wear would be negligible.

Friday

Sneakers £49.99 at Zara

Sneakers £49.99 at Zara

Do offices still do dress down Fridays? Well anyway even if they don’t, these Riviera style slip-ons will cut it either way. Metallic is big this year too so you’re buying two trends for the price of one with these. They’re rather unisex are these so you might want to think twice before going on a first date in them. Or don’t. You could keep your feet under the table all evening I suppose.

Saturday

Gladiators £79.95 at Massimo Dutti

Gladiators £79.95 at Massimo Dutti

Another summer staple, the strappy gladiator sandal has replaced the common flip flop as the go-to summer shoe because there is nothing it doesn’t go with and nowhere it won’t pass muster. Although the 2015 take on this design is to have the laces criss crossed up the calf, I’m unconvinced by the practicality and comfort of those. Even if you can tie them so they stay put all day, you’re likely to encourage varicose veins in the process which isn’t ideal.

Glittery shoes £38 at Dorothy Perkins

Glittery shoes £38 at Dorothy Perkins

It was love at first sight for me when I saw these shoes. The colour! The sparkle! The price! Almost too good to be true, I agonised over whether to get these or the nude shade they also come in. Frankly at £38 you might as well have both. I will be wearing mine with jeans, skirts and dresses. I may even wear them on the school run and to do the hoovering. There are only so many balmy Saturday evenings in London after all.

Sunday

Slide £49 at Kurt Geiger

Slide £49 at Kurt Geiger

More glitter and this time with gemstones too. I’m not sure how long you’d be able to wear these before getting sucked into an escalator or having the person behind you tread on the back rendering you unable to move but I’m sure they’d look fab by the pool. Slides are not my favourite look but they seem to have stuck around despite my disapproval last year so you may as well make them sparkly.

Wooden mules £35 at ASOS

Wooden mules £35 at ASOS

These wooden mules are a cross between the clog and the ‘after’ shoes worn by Sandy at the end of Grease. My dear friend Clare was wearing actual clogs when she met her husband in the early ’90s so I’m going to refrain from being as rude about them as I’d like to be. The shoes in Grease however, well, unlike most things in that final scene, they’ve stood the test of time rather well and dare I say they look quite comfortable? The perfect Sunday evening footwear as you get the fringed heels out again in preparation for Monday morning.

About aftercarrie

I help people refine their wardrobe to suit their shape, colouring and lifestyle. I am a style consultant, personal shopper and colour analyst working in London. Be the loveliest possible you. My first book SHOPPED was released on 5th July 2016 (September Publishing) But it here:
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If The Shoe Fits…

  1. penny stott says:

    Hmm. Think I might have a look in the dressing up box & dig out some of my shoes from an earlier life.

    Like

  2. Our office still does mufty Friday as they call it, although I don’t work Friday’s anymore now I’m back from maternity leave. I’ve been enjoying getting dressed up in proper workwear Monday through Wednesday the last 7 weeks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

