Are you a Knit Picker?

If ever there was a season to be buying knitwear, it is this one. There really seems to be something for every body shape from v-necks to polo necks, from alpaca to cashmere, a cosy cover-up is your easiest wardrobe update.

Bally Autumn Winter 2015

Bally Autumn Winter 2015

 

Roll neck at Massimo Dutti £69.95

Roll neck at Massimo Dutti £69.95

Snood at Zara £17.99

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My boyfriend has always been a devotee of the sweater – for the whole of the 26 years that I have known him he has favoured this particular item of clothing over any other. As soon as there is a hint of autumn in the air (this year, it was a long time coming which infuriated him) he reaches for a jumper. He even took a sweater on our summer holiday to Spain IN AUGUST. This season his weakness is for cashmere crew necks with elbow patches and he already has several. I think I have mentioned before that he has his cashmere dry cleaned, what I didn’t say was that he also tends to leave it on the floor. This is possibly because he has run out of space to store them in one of the many wardrobes because of all the old versions he can’t bring himself to throw away. This is all great news for me of course because I get to borrow them, even if bizarrely he complains when I’ve picked one from the floor.

MaxMara Autumn Winter 2015

MaxMara Autumn Winter 2015

My funnel necked knit at Zara £45.99

My funnel necked knit at Zara £45.99

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was head to toe knits at Stella McCartney and The Row at the autumn winter 2015 shows. It’s lucky then that the temperature has dropped here in the UK because this is not a look to pull off with aplomb if everyone else is still doing bare legs and camisoles. The oversized jumper is everywhere and although it’s not the most flattering garment ever designed, it is easy to wear and does look good with a lot of things – skinny jeans, a lingerie style dress or a pencil skirt. It’s all about contrasting textures and silhouettes which is rather refreshing. This weekend I wore my new Zara funnel necked knit with boyish boots and lace trimmed silk shorts prompting both my mum and my boyfriend to (separately) say, “Have you forgotten to put your trousers on?” Which only goes to show that no matter how old you are there will always be someone who thinks you’re going to catch your death if you’re not wrapped up from your head to your toes.

The Row Autumn Winter 2015

The Row Autumn Winter 2015

Knit at Zara £59.99

Knit at Zara £59.99

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

At the autumn winter shows earlier this year those woolly suits from The Row looked really daft to me. However now the nights have drawn in and there’s ice to scrape off the car in the morning, the idea of knitted trousers is growing on me. Blimey, how sensible is that? Quick, someone fetch me my lace shorts…

About aftercarrie

I help people refine their wardrobe to suit their shape, colouring and lifestyle. I am a style consultant, personal shopper and colour analyst working in London. Be the loveliest possible you. My first book SHOPPED was released on 5th July 2016 (September Publishing). www.emilystott.net
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

