Now is the Summer of Our Discounted Trends

The good news apparently is that sales of football shirts and sporting goods rose so much last month that the high street almost looked like it had a good month. If you’re not the sort of person who longs for wall to wall football on their television after a hard day at work, then this fact will be both bizarre and irrelevant to you. I however have contributed to this in my own small way as I purchased my three year old son an England top to wear to “Brazil World Cup Day” at his nursery. Actually, scrub that, his godfather bought it for him and it cost all of £3.50 from Sainsbury’s so I doubt I revived the economy single-handedly. As for me, I invested (again, invested probably too strong a word at £4 from Asda) in an England t-shirt in 2010 when I was seven months pregnant so I have one to wear if I really must even if it is several sizes too big and stretched out of shape in the stomach and boob area. My son is fascinated by the idea that last time I wore it he was inside it too but is quick to point out that he couldn’t actually see the matches “because of all the blood and food going past”.

Anyway, as far as I’m concerned the good news is in fact that the bad high street sales (blame the erratic weather and shoppers preferring to shop online) means the summer sales have started even earlier than usual! And our summer is only just beginning!! And it’s nearly pay day!!! And there’s so much great stuff!!!! And… well you get the message. I know that sensible Vogue types will tell you to buy classic and to go for pieces that will see you effortlessly into autumn but come on, it’s June for gawd’s sake, we could have three whole months left of warm weather (we might also have three months of rain and gloom but let’s think positive, we’re England supporters after all*) so put on your flat shoes, an easily removed dress and a good bra and get out to those sales. Here’s what I think are the pick of this season’s looks from all the best trends for Summer 2014.

1. Cut-out fabrics

I LOVE this look; it’s flattering, feminine and subtly sexy. It’s the prosecco of fashion. The perfect date-wear!

Banana Republic Dress reduced to £52.99 from £85

Banana Republic Dress reduced to £52.99 from £85

2. Sports Luxe

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again; this is the way to do androgynous eighties ‘chic’ without being either of those things. Think Olivia Newton John and avoid head to toe nylon (no-one likes a walking flammable time bomb) and work it.

Sporty Top from Banana Republic reduced to £14.99 from £20

Sporty Top from Banana Republic reduced to £14.99 from £20

3. Prints

They’re scary I know but prints don’t seem to be going anywhere so a summer dress is simplest as you’ll only have to think about shoes.

Print dress from Reiss £89 reduced from £179

Print dress from Reiss £89 reduced from £179

4.Monochrome

Black is not my colour but I’ll make an exception for my feet. I’m a bit bored of the predictable sixties take on this trend so opt for accessories instead, that way they’ll go with anything and (yawn) see you into the autumn too.

Kurt Geiger shoes £49 reduced from £85

Kurt Geiger shoes £49 reduced from £85

5. Lace

You’re bound to have a wedding to go to this summer and lace – as long as it isn’t white or ivory – is ideal. Also it can be dressed up or down and dark colours can be taken through into autumn (Aaagghh… I just can’t help myself…)

Whistles dress £95 reduced from ££175

Whistles dress £95 reduced from ££175

6. The midi skirt

This season, after a false start last year, the midi skirt has really come into its own and has proved an invaluable part of the spring wardrobe in this unpredictable climate of ours. Wear it without tights without looking daft if it rains and wear it with a t-shirt and flats for day and an embellished top and heels for evening. Job done. I’m converted and now have three.

Midi skirt by Dorothy Perkins £15 reduced from £28

Midi skirt by Dorothy Perkins £15 reduced from £28

7. Grown up bags

I’m not a bag person but this season the high street has been full of bags that look far more expensive than they are. A white bag isn’t exactly practical but if it looks like a Dolce and Gabbana and is half price in the sale, it would be daft not to. Just don’t put it anywhere near chocolate or a toddler.

Whistles leather bag £145 reduced from £295

Whistles leather bag £145 reduced from £295

If like me you’re running out of wardrobe space, then justify your spree by clearing out some stuff that no longer makes the grade and hand it in to an H&M near you where in return you’ll receive a £5 off voucher for your next visit – hooraay! Also, keep your ear to the ground for new marketplace Raise.com which has just launched in the States. At Raise you can buy discounted gift cards for all the big brands and then sell on any unused cards for cash. Waste not, want not as my Granny would say – let’s hope Raise finds its way to our shores soon. In the meantime, I’m rearranging my wardrobe and ahem, clearing some space for my new purchases in my son’s cupboard…

*At time of going to press, England had lost to Uruguay and are almost certainly coming home… Come on Andy!

www.reiss.co.uk

www.whistles.co.uk

www.dorothyperkins.co.uk

www.kurtgeiger.com

www.bananarepublic.gap.co.uk

 

 

About aftercarrie

I help people refine their wardrobe to suit their shape, colouring and lifestyle. I am a style consultant, personal shopper and colour analyst working in London. Be the loveliest possible you. My first book SHOPPED was released on 5th July 2016 (September Publishing). www.emilystott.net
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Now is the Summer of Our Discounted Trends

  1. The sales definitely feel like they start earlier each year, it’s hard to keep track of what season we are in & heaven forbid you don’t buy shorts or a bikini in march & actually wait until summer…when the shops are full of jumpers 😉

    Like

  2. aftercarrie says:

    It definitely works to our advantage now – I went out and shopped up a storm over the weekend, inspired by discounts and sun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

