No Business Like Shoe Business

There are two types of fashion lover in this world – Shoegals* and Bag Ladies – rarely is one both. Apart from anything else, to have an affinity with both requires a lot of cash.

I for one have always been a Shoegal. I couldn’t tell you when this began or why but I will always find it hard to deny myself a new pair of shoes. As the great shoe maestro Manolo Blahnik himself said, “Try a pair on. If you don’t see the magic, stick to Reeboks.”

For me, the shoe is the easiest way to give an outfit impact and just for extra appeal, a shoe will always fit in your size, no matter if you’ve overdone it at Christmas, got PMT or are nine months pregnant. Diamonds may be a girl’s best friend but whoever bought themselves diamonds several times a year?

As I have said before, heels are the ultimate symbol of femininity and the only thing guaranteed to give you height, confidence and better looking calves other than a stairmaster and boy do I hate those things. We love heels, men love them (some men even wear them) and most glamorous outfits are incomplete without them. Imagine getting married in flat shoes (actually I once knew someone who did, she waddled down the aisle like a duck, ’nuff said) or picking up an Oscar in them? I have a male friend who having been on several dates with a lady, called it a day because he justified, “She wore the same flat boring shoes every Saturday”. She was known as ‘Nicky Crap Shoes’ from that day forth. Harsh but fair.My heart sinks when I see an otherwise lovely occasion outfit ruined by a clompy pair of black shoes which have no place outside of a school classroom. What’s the logic, that black shoes go with everything? Not with a baby blue mother of the bride get-up they don’t.

I don’t really know bags, but I know shoes and the one thing I would say is that it doesn’t matter how much you spend on the things, they still have the potential to transform and improve. Annoyingly, expensive shoes can kill your feet just as cheaper ones can. However on the plus side, cheap shoes can look a million dollars on when some designer ones disappoint.

Oh and to prove my point (hopefully), I’ve prepared a little game for you using some of my very own favourite shoes. Which brands go with which shoe? Answers at the end of the post… **

Image

Image

Duneshoe

JimmyChooshoe

  1. Dolce & Gabbana
  2. Jimmy Choo
  3. Carvela
  4. Dune

How did you do? FYI, I didn’t pay full price for any of these shoes. What’s really odd is that each shoe is a different size and yet they all fit me – alright the Dolce and Gabbana ones are too big and I have to wear an in-sole in them but hey, they were half price in Milan, I had to have them! The things we do for shoes. My friend Clare and I queued for a Dior sample sale even though I don’t queue for anything as a rule. When we finally got in, the really serious fashionistas (as opposed to Clare and I who just fancied Dior shoes at 80% off and pre-children, didn’t have anything better to do with our money) were ruthless. While we “ooed and ahhed” over various styles, the fashionistas with their scraped back black hair and perfect red lipstick were stockpiling shoes without trying them on and heading straight for the till. I watched one of them follow Clare around never once taking her eye off the coveted shoes Clare had in her hand. The fashionista had to admit defeat in the end and Clare bought the shoes. She also recently put them on eBay having never worn them. Ahh well…

It was a similar story at the Jimmy Choo press sale to which I had been invited by my sister-in-law Lucy. As friend Dina and I made our way into the building, a flushed face sister-in-law came out hardly able to walk so weighed down with bags was she. “Don’t tell your brother!” she called out as she disappeared in the direction of High Street Kensington tube station. Friends in high places, what would we do without them? Clare, Dina, Lucy and I all now have little boys of pre-school age and not one of us can guarantee them a place in a decent London school when they turn 4. But if it comes to it we’ll be appealing to our local councils in fabulous shoes you mark my words.

*Shoegal – user name coined by Carrie in Sex and the City

**Answers to shoe quiz, top to bottom:

Carvela, Dolce & Gabanna, Dune & Jimmy Choo

About aftercarrie

I help people refine their wardrobe to suit their shape, colouring and lifestyle. I am a style consultant, personal shopper and colour analyst working in London. Be the loveliest possible you. My first book SHOPPED was released on 5th July 2016 (September Publishing) But it here:
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Business Like Shoe Business

  1. H. E. Lexus says:

    A group of excellent heels! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

